Dear Birthmother

Today’s challenge for NaPoWriMo is to “write a poem consisting entirely of things you’d like to say, but never would, to a parent, lover, sibling, child, teacher, roommate, best friend, mayor, president, corporate CEO, etc. Honesty is the best policy, after all, so get it off your chest!”

So here goes, dear birthmother.

I used to love you. 

Or so I thought. 

You used to love me. 

Or so I thought. 

But no. 

It was just manipulation.

By you. 

I pledged open adoption

because I cared for you. 

You used it to further

your ends. 

You apparently thought

you’d co-parent. 

You apparently thought

you’d get her back. 

You apparently thought

it was a contest. 

Little Sally Saucer 

and all that. 

But you know what? 

I’m not the winner. 

You’re not the loser. 

Our daughter 

knows her worth. 

That’s what counts. 

PS My relationship with my other daughter’s first mother is quite good…we are in almost daily contact on facebook!  All my daughters are grown now.  

Leave a Reply

